How is Your Walk? – Proverbs 28:18

“Proverbs 28:18 “Whoso walketh uprightly shall be saved: but he that is perverse in his ways shall fall at once.”

How is your walk?  Do you walk upright or is there something down right wrong about your walk?

To walk uprightly means to live blamelessly, to live in truth, to live righteously, and to exude virtue not only in our relationship with God, but also in our relationships with others.  This is not uprightness that brings spiritual salvation, but saves one now from the consequences of sinful choices.

According to AMG’s Complete Word Study Dictionary the Hebrew word for “upright” is used more than 50% of the time in context of describing the animal without blemish God’s people were to offer Him (Exodus 29:1; Leviticus 4:3, 14:10).  These facts should cause us to ask ourselves, “Would my heart, spiritually speaking, be a spotless offering to God?  Am I withholding any of my life or desires back from Him?  Am I whole-heartedly presenting my body as a living sacrifice to God (Romans 12:1-2)?  The upright’s walk is a lifestyle of living blamelessly before God.  It is having the attitude of King David in Psalm 139:23-24.  “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:  And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

Having this attitude means keeping a short list of sins (1 John 1:9, Mat. 5:23-24).  This requires being sensitive to God’s leading and confessing our sins quickly to the Lord and others.

Psalm 66:18 says, “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me:”  An easy working definition of “iniquity” is “iniquity is having my own way.”  Do I want my own way or God’s way?  If I choose my own way, I will fall.  If I choose God’s way, I will be saved, and God will hear my prayers (1 Peter 3:12).  I will be delivered, safe, and have the victory.  There is no safer place than being in the center of God’s will.  Yes, it will be hard (2 Tim. 3:12), and though God’s will may require suffering for doing what is right, our hearts and minds will be free in Christ (1 Peter 3:17, Acts 5:40-42).

The second half of this Proverb is a complete contrast.  H. A. Ironside in his commentary on this verse says that, Daniel and Jonah are perfect illustrations of the couplet of this verse.  Daniel was obedient to the Lord and was delivered from the lions.  Daniel was a top official in two world empires.  You would have thought the conquering armies of the Medes and Persians would have killed him, a high ranking Babylonian official.  His testimony of uprightness and wisdom was so strong that he was also a high ranking Persian governor during  the Persian Empire.

Then we have Jonah, a prophet given the command to preach God’s coming judgment to the Ninevites.  Our modern equivalent of the Ninevites  would be ISIS.  Instead of obeying, Jonah attempted to flee from God and God’s will for him.  Jonah fell quickly.  A fierce storm rose on the Mediterranean in route to Joppa as a direct result of Jonah’s disobedience.   Jonah told the crew his disobedience was the reason for the storm.  In order to save the ship and its crew, Jonah advised the crew to throw him overboard, so the storm would cease.  However, God wasn’t done with Jonah.  After being thrown overboard, Jonah was swallowed by a fish, spent three nights in the fish, somewhat repented during his stay, and was vomited by the fish onto dry land.  Jonah finally obeyed God and preached of God’s coming judgement on the Ninevites.  Much to his dismay the city repented and God had mercy on them.  Once again Jonah demonstrated he did not have the attitude that God wanted him to have.  Jonah would have rather drowned than see the Ninevites saved.  His attitude was crooked and perverse.

 

Every moment we have the choice to walk uprightly, or to have a perverse heart.  Know for certain, you will not get away with a perverse or crooked heart.  Pride goes before destruction and a haughty spirit before a fall (Prov. 16:18).  You do not know better than God.  The ultimate fruit of your actions will prove just that.  Character is destiny.  Will you fall or be saved?  It’s your choice.  How is your walk with God and others?

Leave a Reply

