Our Leaders Are God Ordained – Proverbs 8:16

Proverbs 8:16 "By me (Wisdom) princes (Government officials) rule, and nobles (willing hearted, prince), even all the judges of the earth."

By God’s wisdom, government officials are placed into power, and if they are wise, they exercise their power according to God’s wisdom. It does not matter if our rulers are Godly or wicked God has placed them there in His infinite wisdom for a purpose (Psalm 75:6-7; Daniel 4:17, 25, 32). We can rest in the fact that God knows what He is doing. While we may not agree with the positions our leaders take, we need faithfully come before the throne of grace on their behalf (Hebrews 4:14-16). We need to be constantly intercedering for them. In 2 Timothy 2:1-2 we are exhorted, "…That, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men; For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty."

Who knows, maybe the rulers we have are a reflection of how often we pray for our rulers. Hopefully it is not. Personally, praying for my rulers is something I really need to get serious about doing on a daily basis. The questions that comes to mind when I see we are to pray for all those in authority over us are,

  1. "Do I even know all the government leaders over me?
  2. Do I know my city, county, state, and federal leaders?
  3. Have I sought to find info about them, so I would know how to pray for them?
  1. Have I ever contacted any of my leaders, to let them know that I appreciate their service and/or that I am praying for them?

Let’s not forget that God has given us leaders according to his infinite wisdom. So next time we feel like complaining about our leaders, let’s not grumble and complain, but humble ourselves and pray for them. A good question to ask ourselves is, "Do I spend more time complaining about my leaders or praying for them?"

Leave a Reply

