Greedy of Gain – Proverbs 1:19

Proverbs 1:19 "So are the ways of every one that is greedy of gain; which taketh away the life of the owners thereof."

The previous verses outline the seven ways of those that are greedy of gain.

  1. They entice others to partner with them in crime (Prov. 1:10-14)
  1. They seek to steal and kill without a cause (Prov. 1:11)
  1. They seek their livelihood from others hard work (Prov. 1:12-13)
  2. They hold communistic ideologies (1:14)
  3. Their feet run to evil (1:16)
  1. Their feet make haste to shed blood (1:16)
  1. They are unteachable, choosing to run to their own destruction (1:17-18).
  • A bird seeing a trap set for it, flies away. Those greedy of gain see the trap and do not flee from it.

These seven ways of the greedy are driven by the love of money which is the root of all evil (1 Tim. 6:10). Anyone controlled by the love of money will do anything to get it. Money is the medium of obtaining goods and services whether good or bad. However, money can never truly satisfy. The love of money is idolatry. Solomon warns his son to flee this trap of idolatry and greedy companions.

We are living in the last days (Luke 17:26-30). Society is very selfish, materialistic, greedy, and content to remain that way . Now let’s take some time to reflect. Do I have a spirit of contentment or do I exhibit the same discontented spirit of the society in which I live? Am I unteachable? Is there idolatry in my life (anything I put ahead of God) money, work, school, pleasure, food, friends, secret sin, etc.? I know the consequences of sin is death, because of this, do I flee from sin (Rom. 6:23). Which do I ask more, "What do I want to do?" or "God, what do you want me to do?"

Leave a Reply

