Listen, Learn, Engraft, and Share the Knowledge of the Truth – Proverbs 22:21

Proverbs 22:17-21 "Bow down thine ear, and hear the words of the wise, and apply thine heart unto my knowledge. 18 For it is a pleasant thing if thou keep them within thee; they shall withal be fitted in thy lips. 19 That thy trust may be in the LORD, I have made known to thee this day, even to thee. 20 Have not I written to thee excellent things in counsels and knowledge, 21 That I might make thee know the certainty of the words of truth; that thou mightest answer the words of truth to them that send unto thee?"

I love this passage. Our focus today is on verse 21, but I wanted us to see the whole context here. To summarize this passage, "Listen, learn, engraft, and share the knowledge of the Truth." As believers, many of us are excited and willing to hear God’s Word and learn about it, but when it comes to engrafting it by making it a part of who we are, we fall short.

For example, I have an internship right now. I am learning tons of new things and often when I do not assimilate what I am learning as fast as I would like too, I start fretting. I have not engrafted verses such as Proverbs 3:5-6 and Isaiah 26:3-4 and made them a part of who I am. So I am going to work on engrafting these verses on trusting God. Just as God has grafted us as Gentiles into the good olive tree of Christ, we need to draw our sustenance from Him rather than ourselves. Without Him we are nothing (John 15:5). We must not just have a thirst for the Truth and learn the Truth, but allow it to transform our lives by reading it, memorizing it, meditating on it, seeing the revelation of God in His Word, and practically applying the Word to our lives.

God’s Word is tried and it is right (Psalm 18:30, 33:4). Praise God for His Word! By God’s Word, we have strong confidence. He has equipped us to answer the questions of life and face life with certainty. When others see it, they will want to know what makes us different, and we will be able to share the truth with them (Rom. 1:16).

In order to fulfill this mission of sharing the truth with others we need to do two things. We need to study God Word and be ready to give an answer in humility. 2 Timothy 2:15 says we need so study to show ourselves approved unto God so we rightly divide the word of truth. 2 Peter 3:15 commands us to be ready to give an answer to anyone that asks a reason of the hope within us with meekness and fear (2 Tim. 2:15, 2 Pet. 3:15). Our confidence ought not to be in our own abilities but in God.

The Hebrew word for "certainty" means "reality." When we engraft God’s Word into our hearts, we will know the certainty or reality of the truth and be equipped to share the truth with those that ask us. What a neat promise and purpose we have. We have the responsibility of passing the truth on to the next generation.

Let’s apply it. Am I doing what this passage says, "Listen, learn, engraft, and share the knowledge of the Truth?" Do I have a heart that hungers and thirsts after the words of the wise? Am I living in the reality of the Words of Truth? In what areas am I struggling? Am I memorizing, meditating, and engrafting Scripture that will empower me to be an overcomer? How have I given the truth of Scripture to those that ask me about it? What goals has God given me for passing the truth on to the next generation?

Let’s listen, learn, engraft, and share the knowledge of the Truth.

James 1:21 “Wherefore lay apart all filthiness and superfluity of naughtiness, and receive with meekness the engrafted word, which is able to save your souls.”

Leave a Reply

