Friends – Proverbs 1:15

Proverbs 1:15 "My son, walk not thou in the way with them (sinners); refrain thy foot from their path:"

Walk (H1980) – figurative of walking through life. Lead, march, grow, move, run, spread, wander, wax.

Way (H1870) – course of life or mode of action, along, conversation, custom, journey, manner, passenger.

With (H854) – nearness, by, among

Refrain (H4513) – restrain, withhold, deny, keep back.

Foot (H7272) – feet, great toe, journey, time (as in I went there for the second time)

Path (H5410) – from an unused root meant to tramp, a (beaten) track, pathway, way. In this verse, Solomon commands his son to avoid the beaten path of sinners. In Jeremiah 6:16a the Lord says to go on the old paths of obedience to Him, "…Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls."

Remember, these sinners tend to be communistic in their thinking and have a gang mentality (Prov. 1:10-16).

Solomon tells his son two important admonitions about sinners in two different ways.

  1. Do not hang around sinners. The phrase "with them" has the idea of nearness. Thus the unsaved ought not to be our closest friends. Christians ought to have friends with whom they can fellowship in the Lord (Heb. 3:13).
  1. Do not live like a sinner. As Christians, we are to be different. People should see Christ in us. We are not to be curious about evil as sinners are, but to avoid it. That word "refrain" means, "to deny." We must deny ourselves, take up our crosses daily, and follow the Lord (Luke 9:23-24). There are only two choices on the shelf, pleasing God or pleasing self. To be God independent is to be flesh dependent, but to be God dependent is to be flesh independent. Which are you?

Why should we avoid the way of sinners? Because they run to evil and are quick to shed blood.

Let’s apply it. Who do I hang around? Do I realize that my friends are a reflection of my character? Who are my close friends? Am I walking with the wise (Prov. 13:20)? Am I a friend of Jesus?

Temptation towards the way of sinners is inevitable, but what is my response to it? Do I take the way of escape that God has provided me (1 Cor. 10:13)? Do I deny my flesh the opportunity to pursue its lusts?

John 15:13-15 "Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. Ye are My friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of My Father I have made known unto you."

Leave a Reply

