How to Reap Satisfaction – Proverbs 18:10

Proverbs 18:20 "A man’s belly shall be satisfied with the fruit of his mouth; and with the increase of his lips shall he be filled."

Solomon says the same thing twice in this verse with different words. God obviously is trying to drive the truth that what you say will come back to you, the law of sowing and reaping. You plant a little and you get a lot back. If we are saying good and honest things we will be filled with good things. If our communication is of evil things we will be filled with violence (Prov. 13:2). The soul of the transgressors shall eat violence.

Proverbs 12:14 and 13:2 carry the same theme of sowing and reaping in one’s speech. Proverbs gives us two harvests, a harvest of deep satisfaction to those who sow good speech and a harvest of violence to those who sow evil speech.

Now let’s apply it. What do I talk about? Is my speech permeated with a passion for God and what is right? My speech is an outward expression of what is already in my heart and God will hold me accountable for it (Mat. 12:34-36). I must really take hold of the truth that I cannot and no man can tame the tongue; only God can (James 3:8). Have I asked God to tame my tongue and yielded it to His control? Will I reap satisfaction in Christ, because of my speech?

1 Peter 3:10-12 "For he that will love life, and see good days, let him refrain his tongue from evil, and his lips that they speak no guile: 11 Let him eschew evil, and do good; let him seek peace, and ensue it. 12 For the eyes of the Lord are over the righteous, and his ears are open unto their prayers: but the face of the Lord is against them that do evil."

Leave a Reply

