What Are You Pursuing – Proverbs 11:19

Proverbs 11:19 "As righteousness (justice, integrity, rightness, virtue) tendeth to life (running, springing, living, longer life): so he that pursueth evil (sin, wrong, bad morally) pursueth it to his own death (ruin)."

I have enclosed the Strong’s Hebrew and Greek Dictionaries word meanings for the English words in parentheses in the verse to make the verse easier to read and more readily understandable.

While our old nature wants to do what it wants to do, we must practice self-control. We must follow after righteousness instead of the deceptive whims of our heart by walking in the power of the Spirit (Jer. 17:19, Gal. 5:16). We have the choice to be a person after our own heart or a person after God’s heart.

In Romans 8:6-7, the Apostle Paul reaffirms the truth of this Proverb.

"For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace. Because the carnal mind is enmity against God: for it is not subject to the law of God, neither indeed can be."

Now let’s apply it.

  1. In what ways am I finding life as I seek to do what God wants me to do?
  2. In what ways, have I found that pursuing my fleshly desires has brought ruin in my life? Be spiritually minded instead of carnally minded.
  3. The peace, joy, and love I desire is in Jesus Christ, how foolish am I then to vainly seek it outside of Christ?
  4. Do I selfishly live for the perks of a relationship with Christ?
  5. Do I really live for Him selflessly out of love as He does for me?

For me He died,

For me He lives,

And everlasting life and light He freely gives.

Chorus of hymn "My Hope Is in the Lord"

Let’s pursue righteousness!

Leave a Reply

